Founded in 1963 by Father David Bauer, Canada’s National Men’s Team was a full-time program from 1963-68 and 1983-2000, giving Canada a constant presence at major international events around the world.
The final step in Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence, Canada's National Junior Team has found record-setting success at the IIHF World Junior Championship since the first year of the POE in 1982, winning 20 gold medals.
Since coming fully under the Hockey Canada umbrella in 2004, Canada’s National Para Hockey Team has won gold at the Paralympics, IPC World Para Hockey Championship and Canadian Tire Para Hockey Cup.
Each season, Canada's National Para Hockey Team welcomes three top sledge hockey nations for a tournament that is quickly becoming one of the most prestigious and anticipated on the international para hockey calendar.
The second step in Hockey Canada's Program of Excellence, Canada's National Men's Under-18 Team participates in the summer Hlinka Gretzky Cup and IIHF U18 World Championship.
Canada dominated the early years of Olympic hockey, winning gold at six of the first seven Games between 1920 and 1952, and has won three of the last five, including home-ice gold in Vancouver, B.C., in 2010.
From Paul Henderson to Brad Marchand, from 1972 to 2016, from the Summit Series to the World Cup, Canada has often been on top of the best-on-best tournaments that have dotted the history of international hockey.
Recent News
Most Popular