2022 olympics justine todd action crop

Officials selected for U SPORTS championships

26 referees and linespersons to work men’s and women’s national university championships

Nicholas Pescod
March 15, 2023

Twenty-six officials – 13 referees and 13 linespersons – have been selected by Hockey Canada for the U SPORTS men’s and women’s championships. The tournaments will run concurrently from March 16-19, with the men’s U Cup taking place in Charlottetown, P.E.I., and the Women’s Hockey Championship taking place in Montreal.

“Hockey Canada would like to congratulate all the officials on their selection to the university championships,” said Dan Hanoomansingh, manager of officiating with Hockey Canada. “The U SPORTS championships provide some of our best domestic competition, in a challenging, single-elimination tournament. These officials have continued to hone their craft throughout the season to be ready for this event.”

Men's U Cup (Charlottetown, P.E.I.)
Name (Hometown) Member Role
Jérémie Belliveau (Dieppe, N.B.)
Hockey New Brunswick Referee
Brian Birkhoff (Wexford, Ont.) Ontario Hockey Federation Linesperson
Tanner Doiron (Bedeque, P.E.I.) Hockey PEI Referee
Jesse Gour (Longueuil, Que.) Hockey Quebec Referee
Sean Hagen (Cole Harbour, N.S.) Hockey Nova Scotia Linesperson
Mike Langin (Kelowna, B.C.) Hockey Saskatchewan Referee
Jarrod MacAdam (Morrell, P.E.I.) Hockey PEI Linesperson
Matt McConnell (Saint John, N.B.) Hockey New Brunswick Linesperson
Ryan Reid (Charlottetown, P.E.I.) Hockey PEI Linesperson
Tyson Stewart (Ottawa, Ont.) Hockey Eastern Ontario Referee

Women's Hockey Championship (Montreal, Que.)
Name (Hometown) Member Role
Grace Barlow (Prince George, B.C.) BC Hockey Referee
Jennifer Berezowski (Brighton, Ont.) Ontario Women's Hockey Association Referee
Melissa Brunn (Kamloops, B.C.) BC Hockey Linesperson
Jessica Chartrand (Gatineau, Que.) BC Quebec Linesperson
Brandy Dewar (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.) Ontario Women's Hockey Association Referee
Joanie Duchesneau (Montreal, Que.) Hockey Quebec Linesperson
Béatrice Fortin (Longueuil, Que.) Hockey Quebec Referee
Stéphanie Gagnon (Princeville, Que.) Hockey Quebec Linesperson
Laura Gutauskas (Brampton, Ont.) Ontario Women’s Hockey Association Linesperson
Cianna Lieffers (Saskatoon, Sask.) Hockey Saskatchewan Referee
Elizabeth Mantha (Longueuil, Que.) Hockey Quebec Referee
Michelle McKenna (Moose Jaw, Sask.) Hockey Saskatchewan Referee
Shauna Neary (Herring Cove, N.S.) Hockey Nova Scotia Referee
Sophie Thomson (Halifax, N.S.) Hockey Nova Scotia Linesperson
Justine Todd (Alliston, Ont.) Ontario Women's Hockey Association Linesperson
Erin Zach (Elmira, Ont.) Ontario Women’s Hockey Association Linesperson

The officiating coach for the Men’s U Cup will Todd Robinson (Sackville, N.S.). The officiating coaches for the Women’s Hockey Championship will be Hanoomansingh and Gabrielle Ariano-Lortie (Laval, Que.).

All selected officials have come through the Officiating Program of Excellence and the Women’s Officiating Program of Excellence, presented by Hockey is Hers and the Hockey Canada Foundation.

“Our program is for anyone who is interested in officiating, from the grassroots to the international game,” says Hanoomansingh. “Hockey Canada's 13 Members provide a path for anyone to participate in officiating, develop a love for the game and achieve their goals.

Officials are integral to the game, enforcing the standard of safe and fair play in arenas from coast to coast to coast. No matter what the level, without officials, there is no game.”

For more information about the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, visit HockeyCanada.ca/Officials.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567


Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738


Recent News
Most Popular
HCC: One For All in Yellowknife
One For All celebrated women’s hockey with more than 300 participants.
2023-24 NWT: CAN 6 – USA 1 (Game 7)
Spooner and Maltais scored twice to lead Canada to win the series.
2023-24 NWT: CAN 3 – USA 0 (Game 6)
Maschmeyer made 27 saves for the shutout to tie the Rivalry Series.
2023-24 NWT: CAN 4 – USA 2 (Game 5)
Bell, Fast and Stacey scored late to help Canada stay alive.