2022 telus cup may 22 flyers champions

Moncton Flyers Win TELUS Cup

Moncton defeats Magog in overtime to finish unbeaten run, claim first national title

May 23, 2022

OKOTOKS, Alta. – The Moncton Flyers has won the TELUS Cup, claiming its first National Men’s U18 Club Championship in dramatic fashion with a 5-4 overtime victory over the Cantonniers de Magog on Sunday night at Pason Centennial Arena.

Jack Martin (Upper Coverdale, N.B.) was the overtime hero, scoring his fifth goal of the tournament just 40 seconds into 3-on-3 overtime after the Cantonniers erased a two-goal deficit in the final 90 seconds.

“This is the best feeling of my life, and I am so proud of the boys,” said Martin. “If you would have told me that we would have won the championship like this I would not have believed you, but this is an amazing group. We are a family and we will remember this forever.”

Moncton is just the second Atlantic Region team to win the national title, joining the Cape Breton West Islanders, who were victorious at the 2017 TELUS Cup. Appearing in their ninth national championship, the Flyers become the first team from New Brunswick to be crowned the best in Canada, finishing an unbeaten week at 7-0. They’re just the eighth team since 2000 to go through the tournament without a loss, and the first of those eight from outside Saskatchewan.

“This is such a special group,” said Moncton head coach John DeCourcey. “All week long they have battled back and done what they needed to do, and I am really proud of them. Their goal this season was to get to this game, and once we got here, we wanted to win.”

Magog took an early 2-0 lead in the first period on goals from Alix Durocher (Drummondville, Que.) and Jules Boilard (Sherbrooke, Que.), and outshot Moncton 18-5 in the opening frame.

Philippe Collette (Saint-Antoine, N.B.) got Moncton on the board early in the second period, before Marco Martin (Moncton, N.B.) tied the game with his second goal of the tournament.

TELUS Cup MVP Luke Patterson (Moncton, N.B.) broke the deadlock with his ninth goal of the tournament, and Zachary Wheeler (Moncton, N.B.) extended Moncton’s lead to two midway through the third period.

With the Magog net empty, Cantonniers captain Eli Baillargeon (Shefford, Que.) scored twice in 16 seconds to even the game and send it to overtime.

Moncton goaltender Samuel LeBlanc (Memramcook, N.B.) stopped 38 shots to record his fourth win of the tournament.

Full game stats are available at

TELUS Cup Tournament Awards:

Most Valuable Player – Luke Patterson (Moncton Flyers)
Top Forward – Jules Boilard (Cantonniers de Magog)
Top Defence – Jack Martin (Moncton Flyers)
Top Goaltender – Joey Rocha (Notre Dame Hounds)
Most Sportsmanlike Player – Lucas Fraser (Sydney Rush)
Esso Kids Scholarship Program: Most Dedicated Athlete Award – Andrew Altwasser (Notre Dame Hounds)

Saint-Hyacinthe, Que., and the Gaulois de Saint-Hyacinthe will play host to the 2023 TELUS Cup, beginning April 24, 2023.  

For more information on the 2022 TELUS Cup, please visit or follow along via social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

Recent News
Most Popular
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.
2024 WPHC: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor scored four goals to help Canada to its second win.