2023 centennial cup may 19 yar por main

Centennial Cup Media Recap – May 19

The Ottawa Jr. Senators and Portage Terriers advanced to the semi-finals with victories on Friday in Portage.

May 19, 2023
|

Ottawa Jr. Senators 4, Collingwood Blues 2

  • Mickael Hebert (Rouyn-Noranda, Que.) scored twice.
  • Chase Lammi (Sudbury, Ont.) and Vincent Velocci (Toronto, Ont.) rounded out the scoring.
  • Rorke Applebee (Châteauguay, Que.) made 32 saves.

Portage Terriers 2, Yarmouth Mariners 1

  • Daniel Siso (Calgary, Alta.) and Brandon McCartney (Winnipeg, Man.) each had a pair of assists.
  • Kian Calder (Portage la Prairie, Man.) scored the game winning goal.
  • Bailey Monteith (Kamloops, B.C.) made 36 saves.

Next Games (Saturday, May 20):

  • Semifinal #1 – Ottawa Jr. Senators vs. Brooks Bandits – 3:30 p.m. CT/4:30 p.m. ET
  • Semifinal #2 – Portage Terriers vs. Battlefords North Stars – 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will broadcast the championship game on May 21 at 3 p.m. CT/4 p.m. ET. The semifinals can be livestreamed at HockeyCanada.ca .

Quotes:

“I like how we stuck with it all game. There were times when they had some intense pressure, but we bent and didn’t break. To give up the goal late in the period can be deflating emotionally, but we have great leaders in the room and guys that understand the big picture. We always say if there is time on the clock we believe in our group and that’s exactly how it played out tonight.”

- Jr. Senators head coach Kyle Makaric (LaSalle, Ont.) on his team’s victory.

“I think the fans will go home happy tonight. They saw us in a real hard-fought game. The powerplay has been clicking. You want the special teams to be good when they have to be. Last game it was our penalty kill and tonight it was the man advantage, they were good for us.”

- Siso on winning the special team’s battle.

For more information on Hockey Canada and the 2023 Centennial Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca , or follow along through social media on Facebook , Twitter and Instagram .

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

emadziya@hockeycanada.ca 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

ssharkey@hockeycanada.ca

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

jknight@hockeycanada.ca

Recent News
Most Popular
Videos
Photos
HCC: One For All in Yellowknife
One For All celebrated women’s hockey with more than 300 participants.
2023-24 NWT: CAN 6 – USA 1 (Game 7)
Spooner and Maltais scored twice to lead Canada to win the series.
2023-24 NWT: CAN 3 – USA 0 (Game 6)
Maschmeyer made 27 saves for the shutout to tie the Rivalry Series.
2023-24 NWT: CAN 4 – USA 2 (Game 5)
Bell, Fast and Stacey scored late to help Canada stay alive.
Schedule