2012whc team blueline no names 640

Canada's National Men's Team management group announces first group of players for 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship

April 28, 2013

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, along with executive director Steve Yzerman and Canada’s National Men’s Team management group, announced a first group of 22 players to Canada’s roster for the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship.  Canada’s roster includes three goaltenders, seven defencemen and twelve forwards. Hockey Canada can name up to 25 players to it’s World Championship roster up until the final day of the event.

Hockey Canada’s National Men’s Team management group is comprised of Yzerman (Nepean, Ont./ Tampa Bay, NHL), along with Doug Armstrong (Sarnia, Ont./St. Louis, NHL), Ken Holland (Vernon, B.C./Detroit, NHL), Kevin Lowe (Lachute, Que./Edmonton, NHL), Bob Nicholson (Penticton, B.C./Hockey Canada) and Brad Pascall (Coquitlam, B.C./Hockey Canada).   Peter Chiarelli (Ottawa, Ont./ Boston, NHL) will serve in an advisory capacity.

“We have a received a great response from the players that we have approached, and we are very pleased with the roster that we have assembled to date,” said national men’s team executive director Steve Yzerman.  “We look forward to getting together as a team in Stockholm on May 1 and preparing for the world championship.” 

The management group is overseeing all operations for Canada’s National Men’s Team at the world championship, including staff selection, player identification and selection as well as team operations. Hockey Canada’s senior director of national teams and hockey operations, Scott Salmond, will continue to oversee team logistics, working closely with the management group.

Canada’s roster includes eleven players with World Championship experience, one Olympian, and 16 of the 22 players have international experience.  Six players – T.J. Brodie, Brenden Dillon, Michael Garnett, Matt Read, Justin Schultz, Mike Smith – will be representing Canada in international play for a first time.

SU18 – Summer Under-18 Team, WU18 – World Under-18 Championship, SS – Super U20 Series (2007); WJC – World Junior Championship; WHC – World Hockey Championship, WCup – World Cup

G Devan Dubnyk Calgary, Alta. Edmonton Oilers (NHL) WU18, WJC, WHC
G Michael Garnett Saskatoon, Sask. Chelyabinsk Traktor (KHL) -
G Mike Smith Kingston, Ont. Phoenix Coyotes (NHL) -

D T.J. Brodie Dresden, Ont. Calgary Flames (NHL) -
D Brian Campbell Strathroy, Ont. Florida Panthers (NHL) WJC
D Brenden Dillon New Westminster, B.C. Dallas Stars (NHL) -
D Jay Harrison Whitby, Ont. Carolina Hurricanes (NHL) SU18, WJC
D Stéphane Robidas Sherbrooke, Que. Dallas Stars (NHL) WHC
D Luke Schenn Saskatoon, Sask. Philadelphia Flyers (NHL) SU18, WU18, WJC, WHC
D Justin Schultz Kelowna, B.C. Edmonton Oilers (NHL) -

F Matt Duchene Haliburton, Ont. Colorado Avalanche (NHL) SU18, WU18, WHC
F Jordan Eberle Regina, Sask. Edmonton Oilers (NHL) SU18, WU18, WJC, WHC
F Claude Giroux Hearst, Ont. Philadelphia Flyers (NHL) WJC, SS 
F Taylor Hall Kingston, Ont. Edmonton Oilers (NHL) SU18, WU18, WJC 
F Andrew Ladd Maple Ridge, B.C. Winnipeg Jets (NHL) WJC, WHC
F Ryan O’Reilly Varna, Ont. Colorado Avalanche (NHL) SU18, WU18, WHC
F Matt Read Ilderton, Ont. Philadelphia Flyers (NHL) -
F Wayne Simmonds Scarborough, Ont. Philadelphia Flyers (NHL) WJC 
F Jeff Skinner Markham, Ont. Carolina Hurricanes (NHL) SU18, WHC
F Eric Staal Thunder Bay, Ont. Carolina Hurricanes (NHL) SU18, WU18, WHC, Olympics 
F Jordan Staal Thunder Bay, Ont. Carolina Hurricanes (NHL) SU18, WHC 
F Steven Stamkos Unionville, Ont. Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL) SU18, WU18, WJC, WHC

Head coach Lindy Ruff (Warburg, Alta.) will lead the coaching staff, along with assistant coaches Doug Shedden (Wallaceburg, Ont./ EV Zug, SUI), Dave Tippett (Moosomin, Sask./Phoenix Coyotes, NHL) and Barry Trotz (Dauphin, Man./Nashville Predators, NHL).

The 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship runs from May 3-19 in Helsinki, Finland, and Stockholm, Sweden. Canada will be based out of Stockholm for the duration of the event, opening on May 4 against Denmark. All of Canada’s games will be broadcast on TSN/RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcaster. Check local listings for game times in your area.

For more information on Hockey Canada and Canada’s National Men’s Team, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, or follow along via social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada  and www.twitter.com/hc_men .

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567


Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738


Recent News
Most Popular
HCC: One For All in Yellowknife
One For All celebrated women’s hockey with more than 300 participants.
2023-24 NWT: CAN 6 – USA 1 (Game 7)
Spooner and Maltais scored twice to lead Canada to win the series.
2023-24 NWT: CAN 3 – USA 0 (Game 6)
Maschmeyer made 27 saves for the shutout to tie the Rivalry Series.
2023-24 NWT: CAN 4 – USA 2 (Game 5)
Bell, Fast and Stacey scored late to help Canada stay alive.