2024 esso cup edmonton jr oilers

Road to the 2024 Esso Cup: Edmonton Jr. Oilers

For the first time in nearly a decade, the Edmonton Jr. Oilers are back at the big dance on the back of lights-out goaltending

Nicholas Pescod
April 16, 2024

Once a fixture of the Esso Cup, the Edmonton Jr. Oilers are back at Canada’s Women’s U18 National Club Championship after nearly a decade-long absence.

From the inception of the Esso Cup in 2009 until 2015, the Jr. Oilers, known then as the Thunder, made a record seven consecutive appearances. The run included trips to the gold medal game in 2011 and 2014, and bronze-medal finishes in 2010, 2012 and 2013.

Nine years later, they’re back. So, how did they do it? They had a fantastic regular season, finishing second in the Alberta Female Hockey League (AFHL) with a record of 21-7-2 and winning their last eight games. They were also second-best in goal scoring with 104 in 30 games and co-led the AFHL by allowing only 41.

Powering the Jr. Oilers were forward Daniella Martorana (15-18—33) and defender Ella Lloyd (17-14—31), who finished atop the AFHL in points among all blue-liners.

At the back end, Ella Dunham-Fox (7-3, 1.14 GAA, .944 SV%) and Mackenzie Gould-Sharpe (12-3, 1.15 GAA, .943 SV%) were sensational. The duo finished one-two in goals-against average and save percentage, and Gould-Sharpe’s five shutouts put her third among netminders.

The Jr. Oilers cruised through the preliminary round at the Alberta provincial championship with a perfect 3-0 record, and a nail-biting 2-1 win over the Red Deer Chiefs – the only team to finish above Edmonton in the regular season – secured an AFHL title. Edmonton allowed just four goals in four playoff games.

That championship came with a trip to the national tournament when the Thompson-Okanagan Lakers – the Esso Cup hosts – clinched the B.C. Elite Hockey League title, sending the Jr. Oilers to Vernon as Pacific representatives.


Alberta Female Hockey League 
Preliminary round: 1st place – defeated Calgary Fire 3-1, defeated St. Albert Slash 2-1, defeated Red Deer Chiefs 3-1)
Championship game: defeated Red Deer Chiefs 2-1


Record (W-L-OTL): 21-7-2 (2nd in AFHL)
Goals for: 104 (2nd in AFHL)
Goals against: 41 (tied for 1st in AFHL)
Longest winning streak: 8 (Feb. 2-25)
Top 3 scorers:
- Daniella Martorana – 15G 18A 33P (3rd in AFHL)
- Ella Lloyd – 17G 14A 31P (4th in AFHL)
- Tayla Lamabe – 15G 11A 26P (6th in AFHL)


Record: 4-0
Goals for: 10
Goals against: 4
Top 3 scorers:
- Claire Carruthers – 2G 3A 5P
- Ciara Lang – 2G 1A 3P
- Tayla Lamabe – 2G 0A 2P


2015 – Edmonton Thunder | 5th place | 2-3 | 9GF 10GA
2014 – Edmonton Thunder | silver medal | 3-4 | 16GF 18GA
2013 – Edmonton Thunder | bronze medal | 6-1 | 23GF 18GA
2012 – Edmonton Thunder | bronze medal | 3-4 | 15GF 12GA
2011 – Edmonton Thunder | silver medal | 6-1 | 26GF 12GA
2010 – Edmonton Thunder | bronze medal | 3-4 | 17GF 18GA
2009 – Edmonton Thunder | 4th place | 2-4 | 17GF 14GA


Claire Carruthers – St. Francis Xavier University
Callie Dach – Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
Aeryn Flanagan – University of Saskatchewan
Mackenzie Gould-Sharpe – Lakeland College
Camryn Karaki – Southern Alberta Institute of Technology
Ella Lloyd – Northeastern University
Layla Matthew – Clarkson University
Riley Scorgie – Cornell University
Maren Stachniak – SUNY Cortland

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

Recent News
Most Popular
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.
2024 WPHC: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor scored four goals to help Canada to its second win.