2022 paralympic para captain

Tyler McGregor to captain Canada's Paralympic hockey team at 2022 Paralympic Winter Games

James Dunn, Tyrone Henry and Liam Hickey to serve as alternate captains

February 24, 2022

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada and the Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC) have announced that Tyler McGregor (Forest, Ont.), a two-time Paralympic medallist, will wear the ‘C’ for Canada’s Paralympic Hockey Team at the 2022 Paralympic Winter Games.

PyeongChang 2018 silver medallists James Dunn (Wallacetown, Ont.), Tyrone Henry (Ottawa, Ont.) and Liam Hickey (St. John’s, N.L.) will serve alongside McGregor as alternate captains. Dunn and Hickey will alternate wearing the ‘A’ throughout the tournament.

“I am honoured to participate in my third Paralympics, and I am grateful for the opportunity to serve as captain on a team with so many great leaders that are worthy of this accomplishment,” said McGregor. “James, Tyrone and Liam are exceptional players and leaders that are deserving of this honour. While our season has been one of perseverance, our entire team is excited to compete in Beijing and continue to work towards our goal of winning a gold medal for Canada.”

Canada’s Paralympic Hockey Team announced its 17-player roster on Feb. 15, and has been participating in a month-long training camp in Calgary ahead of the 2022 Paralympic Winter Games. Canada will kick of the tournament on March 5 against the United States, and will also play RPC on March 6 and Korea on March 8 to round out preliminary-round action.

For more information on Hockey Canada and Canada’s Paralympic Hockey Team, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or follow along through social media on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567


Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738


Recent News
Most Popular
2023 Men’s U18 Club Nationals: Day 4 – Thursday, April 27
The Blazers, Blizzard and Gaulois won to stay in the winner’s circle.
2023 Esso Cup: April 26 (Preliminary)
The Rush, Sabres and Rebels secured wins on Day 4 of the 2023 Esso Cup.
2023 Esso Cup: April 25 (Preliminary)
The Sabres, Rush and Étoiles earned points on Tuesday at the Esso Cup.
2023 Esso Cup April 24 (Preliminary)
The Sabres, Selects and Rush notched wins on Monday at the Esso Cup.