2017 nwu18c conference announcement

2017 National Women's Under-18 Championship headed to Quebec City

ExpoCité to welcome national championship Nov. 1-5, 2017

September 28, 2016

QUEBEC, Que. – Hockey Canada has selected Quebec City to host the 2017 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, marking the event’s third appearance in the province since Trois-Rivières hosted the inaugural event in 2001.

Marie-Philip Poulin (Beauceville, Que./Montreal, CWHL) - who won three silver medals with Quebec at the Championship in 2005, 2007 and 2008 and is the tournament’s all-time leading scorer with 30 points in 15 games - was on-hand to make the announcement alongside Hockey Quebec and members of the host organizing committee during a news conference Wednesday.

“It’s with great confidence that Hockey Quebec supports the minor hockey association of the Capitale-Nationale and the Titans du Cégep Limoilou organization on the delivery of this incomparable female hockey tournament. To host the National Women’s Under-18 Championship is a source of great pride for all involved,” said Yvan Dallaire, director of governance and manager of female hockey, Hockey Quebec. “This will be exciting hockey. The fans will not be let down by the performance-level of the participating teams. We are looking forward to the tournament’s opening ceremony.”

The national championship, which began in 2001, features eight teams from across the country: Alberta, Atlantic, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario Blue, Ontario Red, Quebec and Saskatchewan, and will be hosted at ExpoCité in the Pavillon de la jeunesse.

“The organizing committee is proud to have Hockey Canada’s trust in our ability to bring this event to the Quebec region,” said Camille Berner, chair of the host organizing committee. “Our committee members are looking to deliver a first-class event that meets the expectations of the participating teams, and leaves them with fond memories of their visit to the Capitale-Nationale region.”

The 2017 National Women’s Under-18 Championship will bring together teams made up of the best female hockey players born in 2000 or later. The tournament serves as an important platform for Hockey Canada scouts who evaluate candidates for the Canadian contingent that will compete at the IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship, as well as at other international events.

Historically, the event has netted more than $1.5 million in economic impact for the host region, and as with all Hockey Canada events, net proceeds are redirected to support the growth of the game locally.

“The National Women’s Under-18 Championship is an important milestone for the players who participate, but also for the host communities,” said Dean McIntosh, senior director of events and properties, Hockey Canada. “We will work in partnership with Hockey Quebec to leverage the excitement and activity around the Championship to create female hockey programming that extends to as many young ladies as possible in the region. The net proceeds of the event will also remain in the community as part of the tournament’s legacy for hockey growth and development in the region.”

A number of Canadian women’s hockey stars have competed at the National Women’s Under-18 Championship, including 20 players who helped Canada’s National Women’s Team win a silver medal at the 2016 IIHF Women’s World Championship, in Kamloops, B.C.:

  • Meghan Agosta (Jan. 2005 – Ontario Red)

  • Bailey Bram (2007 – Manitoba)

  • Emily Clark (2011, 2012 – Saskatchewan)

  • Sarah Davis (2007, 2008, 2009 – Atlantic)

  • Laura Fortino (2007, 2008 – Ontario Red)

  • Erica Howe (2009 – Ontario Red)

  • Brianne Jenner (Nov. 2005 – Ontario Blue; 2007, 2008 – Ontario Red)

  • Rebecca Johnston (Nov. 2005 – Ontario Red)

  • Halli Krzyzaniak (2011, 2012 – Manitoba)

  • Brigette Lacquette (2008 – Manitoba)

  • Jocelyne Larocque (Jan. 2005, Nov. 2005 – Manitoba)

  • Emerance Maschmeyer (2011 – Alberta)

  • Marie-Philip Poulin (Nov. 2005, 2007, 2008 – Quebec)

  • Jamie Lee Rattray (2007 – Ontario Blue; 2008, 2009 – Ontario Red)

  • Lauriane Rougeau (Nov. 2005, 2007 – Quebec)

  • Jillian Saulnier (2007, 2008, 2009 – Atlantic)

  • Natalie Spooner (Nov. 2005, 2007 – Ontario Red)

  • Blayre Turnbull (2009 – Atlantic)

  • Jennifer Wakefield (Jan. 2005, Nov. 2005 – Ontario Red)

  • Tara Watchorn (2007 – Ontario Red)

For more information on the 2017 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, please visit, and follow via social media on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

Recent News
Most Popular
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.
2024 WPHC: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor scored four goals to help Canada to its second win.