centre premier tech

Rivière-du-Loup, Que., to host 2015 TELUS Cup

April 26, 2014

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with Hockey Quebec, announced Saturday that Rivière-du-Loup, Que., will host the 2015 TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Midget Championship, from April 20-26, 2015.

The host Albatros du Collège Notre-Dame of the Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec will be joined by five regional champions (Atlantic, Central, Pacific, Quebec and West) to compete for the gold medal at the 3,000-seat Centre Premier Tech.

Rivière-du-Loup will be the eighth Quebec city to host Canada’s National Midget Championship, joining Verdun (1978), Ste-Foy (1983), Sorel (1990), Sherbrooke (1995), Montreal (2000), Gatineau (2005) and Lévis (2010). Quebec teams have won 12 gold medals in the first 40 years of the national championship, second-most of any province.

“The committee has been in place for over a year, and numerous sub-committees are already at work organizing the 2015 TELUS Cup,” said Regis Berger, honorary chair of the 2015 TELUS Cup organizing committee. “The members of the committee hail from all walks of life and they share a common passion for hockey and the development of young players. We are all excited and anxious at the thought of welcoming the 2015 TELUS Cup to our beautiful city of Rivière-du-Loup.”

“Quebec hockey fans have a passion for Midget hockey, and we’re excited to welcome the country’s best teams next spring,” said Sylvain Lalonde, executive director of Hockey Quebec. “We look forward to being in Rivière-du-Loup and building on the tradition that Quebec’s seven previous hosts have created.”

“No province has a history in Midget hockey quite like Quebec, and we’re thrilled to be returning for the 42nd edition of Canada’s National Midget Championship in 2015,” said Bob Nicholson, president and CEO of Hockey Canada. “Host committees in Quebec have always put on a first-class tournament, and we’re expecting nothing less from the group in Rivière-du-Loup.”

Ticket information for the 2015 TELUS Cup will be announced in the coming months.

A number of future NHLers have taken part in Canada’s National Midget Championship since its inception in 1974, including 55 first-round draft picks, three No. 1 selections (Gord Kluzak, Wendel Clark and Sidney Crosby) and nine future Hockey Hall of Fame inductees (Glenn Anderson, Ron Francis, Mike Gartner, Al MacInnis, Larry Murphy, Patrick Roy, Joe Sakic, Denis Savard and Steve Yzerman).

The 2014 TELUS Cup is currently taking place in Moose Jaw, Sask., with the gold medal game scheduled for Sunday, April 27 at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT on TSN/RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcasters. Check your local listings for broadcast times in your area.

For more information on the TELUS Cup, visit, or follow the tournament through social media at and

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

Recent News
Most Popular
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.
2024 WPHC: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor scored four goals to help Canada to its second win.