2022 esso cup hounds selects game 2 may16

2022 Esso Cup Recap: Monday, May 16

The Durham West Lightning, Notre Dame Hounds and Fraser Valley Rush notched wins on Day 1 of the Esso Cup

May 17, 2022
|

Durham West Lightning 6, Prince Albert Bears 2

• Game stats available here

Notre Dame Hounds 2, Northern Selects 1 (OT)

• Game stats available here

Fraser Valley Rush 4, Remparts du Richelieu 1

• Game stats available here

Next games - Tuesday, May 17:

• Durham West Lightning vs. Northern Selects (1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT)
• Prince Albert Bears vs. Remparts du Richelieu (5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT)
• Fraser Valley Rush vs. Notre Dame Hounds (8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT)

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will broadcast the championship game on May 22; please check local listings for details. All preliminary-round games and the semifinals will be livestreamed at HockeyCanada.ca/EssoCup.

Quotes:

“We have carried a ton of energy with us all season, and we brought it here again today. It was a long journey to get here, but to open this tournament with a victory is huge and gets the experience off on the right foot. It felt nice to score today, but the win is more important.”

- Jessica Pellerin (Durham West Lightning) on her two-goal performance and a tournament-opening victory.

“The first period was a bit scrambly for sure, but we’ve been practicing hard for the last three weeks and knew this was going to be a challenge. We had some nerves late, but to get this win in front of all our family and friends is a great start to the week.”

- Kaitlyn Gilroy (Notre Dame Hounds) on returning to game action after a long layoff.

“This was a heavy game tonight. Everyone was pulling in the right direction, worked well together, and picked up the win. This was a great way to start off this tournament.”

- Katie Leroux (Fraser Valley Rush) on a hard-fought victory over Richelieu.

For more information on the 2022 Esso Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca or follow along via social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
514-895-9706
dsaillant@hockeycanada.ca

 

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
emadziya@hockeycanada.ca

 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
ssharkey@hockeycanada.ca

 

Recent News
Most Popular
Videos
Photos
WU18: CAN 2 – FIN 0 (Preliminary)
Canada outshot Finland 40-17 but came up short in its worlds opener.
2022 Centennial Cup: May 29 (Championship)
Brooks came from behind and downed Pickering to win its third national title.
2022 MWC: FIN 4 – CAN 3 OT (Gold Medal Game)
Comtois tied the game late, but Canada finished with silver.
2022 Centennial Cup: May 28 (Semifinals)
Brooks and Pickering punched their tickets to the national championship game.
Schedule